This original schoolhouse was built on its present site circa 1868 and opened for children, grades 1 - 7, for families who lived in the Port Republic area of Calvert County, Maryland. It remained in continuous use until the consolidation of schools in
1932, at which time it was closed. The schoolhouse suffered the ravages of time until 1976 when it was restored by the Calvert County Retired Teachers Association as a bicentennial project.
Today groups of school children spend the day recreating a one-room school experience, including a walk through the woods to school and lessons taught as they would have been at the turn of the 20th century.
In 1957 the schoolhouse and its property were transferred to its present owner, Christ Church Parish. The Calvert Retired School Personnel Association and the Friends of the One-Room Schoolhouse share responsibility for the maintenance and educational
programs offered to school-age children and adults with an interest in historical buildings and education.
Currently, the Calvert County Public School curriculum includes a day at the schoolhouse for all fourth grade students who experience a typical day in a one-room school and learn about life in rural Calvert County, before electricity, indoor plumbing,
cars, and buses.
On August 14th, they will be having an ice cream social from 6 p.m to 8 p.m! Hope to see you there!